Katrina’s “Journey”

I have based my “Journey” challenge piece around a photograph I took of a silk tree when I was in Palmerston North teaching at the 2015 Quilt Symposium Manawatu.

DSCN5147

I used a beautiful piece of hand dyed fabric purchased from Distressed Threads of Christchurch for the background, small pieces of batik in green, red and yellow and lots of machine stitching in variegated threads.

Silk Tree

Here is a close up:

DSCN5251

And some shots of my piece around the garden:

DSCN5253

 

DSCN5254

One comment

  1. Katrina – I cannot believe I never posted a comment on your lovely silk tree piece!! They are such magnificent trees and you have captured it so well, and I love the photography out in your garden as well. You are very creative with your photos of challenges.
    What a lovely memory of your time in Palmerston North, it was certainly a journey for you!!
    Juliet

Leave a comment